Oatmeal Apple Praline Pie

I now live southwest of Ft. Worth, TX with my Aunt & Uncle.  In the country but I love it, coffee with my cousins just about every morning. 🙂

So the other day I stop by the local library to get my library card- I wanted to watch Downton Abbey ( I have caught up to season 4 episode 6) Anyway they were having a fall festival last weekend & they where having a Pie Contest. I decided that I was going to enter 🙂

I had been craving apple pie – I didn’t grow up eating apple pie. Anyhow I decided I wanted to make a caramel apple pie. After reading many versions of caramel apple pie on pinterest. I sorta threw this one together.

Ok I will admit the first go at this pie was not a prize winning pie. But I knew what I needed to change.
It’s hard to write out a recipe, mostly because I usually toss this & that in. And it works, most of the time. ha
But I am going to get better because I will one day write a cookbook.

photo 1-1

Oatmeal Apple Praline Pie
This is for a deep pie dish.

Pastry
½ cup of oatmeal
2 cups of flour
¼ cup of sugar
2 sticks of Butter
½ tsp of salt
¼ – ½ cup of ice cold water

Apple filling
8 Granny smith apples, peeled & corded
2 tablespoons of butter
1tsp of Apple Pie Spice ( About ½ tsp Cinnamon, ¼ tsp Nutmeg & ¼ tsp All-spice)
2 Tablespoons of Tapioca or flour
¾ cup Brown sugar

Oatmeal Pecan Crumble
½ tsp of Cinnamon
¾ cup of oatmeal
½ cup of pecans
¼ cup Brown sugar
1 tablespooon of flour
¼ cup of butter

Caramel sauce
1 stick of butter
1 cup of Brown Sugar
½ cup of cream aka ½ & ½
½ tsp Vanilla

Pastry:
In a food Processor add the oats & blend well. In the meantime cube the cold butter.
Add in the flour, salt & sugar; pulse processor to blend well. Add in butter and pulse until all is well blended; slowly add in water just until all is moist. Split dough & wrap in plastic wrap; place in fridge. Will stay for a week or two.

Carmel sauce:
In a saucepan melt butter & Brown sugar over med heat. Stir continuiously & bring to a low boil. 10mins or so. Slowly add in cream & bring back to a slow boil then remove from heat. Add vanilla & set aside to cool. Will stay for a week or two.

Apple filling:
Heat oven to 375.
Slice thinly and places on a foiled lined cookie sheet. Baked for 15mins; flipping half way thru.
Remove apples from oven & transfer to a bowl. Add in butter, Tapioca, sugar, Apple spice. Gently stir together & set aside.

Oatmeal Pecan Crumble:
In the food processor add in oats, sugar, cinnamon, butter & flour – blend well. Add in nuts and pulse three times. Set aside.

Assemble pie:
Roll out the pastry. Line a 9in pie pan with first pastry and fill first the apples, Then sprinkle the oatmeal mixture over the apples & pour on the Carmel sauce. Do not over fill; you may have sauce left over.
Then top with second pastry. Basket weave is best. But if you choose to lay a solid pastry on the top; make sure to make slits in the top.

Bake for 30 mins at 375.
Enjoy with vanilla Ice Cream.

 

Oh did win the pie contest!!!

photo 2

Leave a Reply

